CRM 2011 Workflows being Duplicated

Imagine that only one workflow has been in CRM and only one workflow will be shown under all processes view. From advance find, it will show one workflow when queried. There’s a difference between advanced find query for the processes compared to the other usual entities, when processes has been selected under “Look For” dropdown it gives a default filter conditions as follows.

WFAdvancedFind

After activating the workflow just created, in the advanced find, it will show only one workflow with the default filter criteria given. But after removing all filters from the advanced find it will show two workflows. Whenever a workflow gets activated CRM will automatically create a snapshot of the same workflow.

In the schema for the Type attribute, there are three values;

1 = Definition
Definition of a Workflow that is displayed in the application in the “All Processes” view. When you make changes to a workflow, you are making a change to a Workflow definition (or template); if you delete a workflow, you are deleting a workflow definition (or template)


2 = Activation
Whenever you activate (or publish) a workflow, an Activation record is created. An activation represents a snapshot of the workflow definition taken at activation time. If a Workflow is triggered, the System Job (asyncoperation) links back to the Workflow Activation record. Imagine you activate a workflow, a workflow is triggered and is in the midst of running, when you deactivate the workflow and make a change. In order to not effect the currently running Workflow, it uses the Workflow Activation record. If the workflow is triggered again, it will use the new definition (or workflow activation).

3 = Template
If you mark a Workflow as a Workflow Template, it will show up on the new Workflow dialog. If you choose to use a template, a copy of the template will be used as a basis of the Workflow.

When a Workflow is deleted from the system, the definition is deleted. However, if the workflow was ever published the Activation will remain for a period of time. Once all of the System Jobs that reference a particular Workflow Activation have completed and have been cleaned up (occurs through a recurring daily bulk delete job), the Workflow Activation will also be deleted.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s